noobpublishing.blogg.se

Lightwrite 6 locking up
Lightwrite 6 locking up






So my favourite outer layer is a single layer, non-mesh bike jacket with a reflective silver coating.

Lightwrite 6 locking up full#

On the hotter days the air temp is over body temp - and can be over 40'C in the sun, so full mesh jackets can make you even hotter, as the hot wind transfers heat to your skin, and evaporation alone cannot kerp ypu cool. My usual gear before getting the adventure suit was a bit unusual, but had evolved over many years of riding in SE Asian heat. Just bought myself a Komine adventure style jacket and trousers, as it has massive vents, so can convert to (almost) a mesh jacket - but still worried it may be a bit warm in the Tropics. It has kept me warm and dry even on downpour for hours on the Interstate. This has worked for me in Death Valley in December where temps dipped into the 25's half the day, and no more than 45 the rest of the time. Don't forget to also have winter neck balaclava to protect your neck/chin/mouth area, and another layer of "skull cap". Base layer just needs to be as thin as possible. Then, I can open up the vents on my base ADV suit.įor a base layer, I just have ordinary underwear and T-shirt. This also acts as a primary barrier against biting cold.Ĥ) Finally, all the above layers can be shed when the temps get hot. It has to be outer layer because it's easy to remove and is way more waterproof than an inner rain liner that most ADV suits come with. So is very important to me.ģ) I use a relatively cheap, out layer rain gear for both jacket and pants. Your body's core temperature never recovers until you sit next to the Sun for a few hours. Sometimes it can be days in the 30's-40's and that's just not fun at all. This is a must otherwise I'm miserable for long periods of time. It just needs to be versatile enough for cold and warm weather.Ģ) I use a full sleeve heated liner AND heated gloves. In my case this is about $400 3/4 jacket and pants. I believe I have the basic set up down pat where it works in very cold, to warm/hot, to wet, and everything else in between.ġ) I buy THE BEST most comfortable ADV outfit I can afford. I've tried all kinds of combinations, layers, etc. I've done a lot of long distances across varied terrain AND weather. My legs almost never get cold on the highway, and I can’t think of time they’ve ever been cold on an ADV type ride…so I only worry about the torso. I don’t know how well it would work over your armor though, or if your armor has room to layer the heat underneath (they also make heated shirts, which might be better for you). The best part is not having to stop to layer up/down as often for temp changes. I rode to work this morning (121 miles - mostly at 75mph) in 38-42 degree temps (dry this time - last week it was 32-40 and pouring - same exact gear both trips) and was comfy the whole way thanks to handy electric jacket. I assume since you’re asking you want to make some changes - what don’t you like about your current setup/what isn’t working as well as you’d like?ĮTA: the only thing I’d consider is a heated jacket if your bike can handle running that.

lightwrite 6 locking up

I've worn this in fairly cold conditions on highway (low 40sF), but think it will handle colder?Ĭlick to expand.I always struggled with that part - not the putting on of the suit physically, bu the being smart enough to stop BEFORE I was soaked. The Foray jacket just isn't up to the challenge - it leaks badly on rainy days, and I need an upgrade.

lightwrite 6 locking up

I'm particularly interested in what people recommend for the wet weather layers. Obviously except for the armor I don't wear all of this all the time - it's mixed and matched as needed. Protection: Asterisk Ultra Cell knee braces Rain Layer: Outdoor Research Foray JacketĪbrasion Protection / Outside layer: Klim Dakar (inside boot)īase Layer, cold days: Under Armor Poly Blendīase Layer, warm days: thigh-high poly socks under knee brace My current set up is:Ībrasion Protection / Outside layer: Klim DakarĢnd Mid Layer for really cold days: cheapo puffy vest and/or thin poly Descente ski sweaterīase Layer (cold days): Under Armor poly-blend (not sure what product name is)īase Layer (warm days): simple poly-blend shirts And assume the trip involves lots of changes in weather - from cold (30F or so) to hot (90F or more). It's personal preference, so no right or wrong on that, but please know that I'm not looking for recommendations for the typical armored, 3L gortex, kind of stuff. Some preliminaries: I'll be separating armor from the gear. Sorry for the long post, but I'm looking for advice from the experienced pros in this group about layering strategy for long term (2+ months?) ADV rides.






Lightwrite 6 locking up